April And Alice Race To Victory At Keighley

Harriers had a very successful journey to Keighley on Sunday with victories in both the Sue Ryder Manorlands Hospice 10k and 5k women’s races. April Caufield came home first in the 10k in 41:21 whilst Alice Vick took first place in the 5k in 20:32.

Fourteen Harriers ran in the 5k, which was the first race in the club’s 2022/23 road championships. A decent turnout despite an early start on the morning the clocks had gone forward and the logistics of parking due to the point-to-point race route. The course took in a lot of twists and turns and went through a few parks. There were a number of inclines but the route was mainly downhill. 

Will Carver finished third overall in 19:03, pursued by James O’Rourke in fourth in 19:44. Margaret Deacon took first place in the FV50 category in 24:34. Other Harriers were; Ben Slow (20:36), Steve Fitz-Costa (22:58), Marc Rocheteau (22:58), Stef Dickinson (23:36), Tim Slow (23:49), John Moore (25:13), Jenny St Romaine (27:48), Jude Baines (28:19), Kirsty Carver (29:30) and Rebecca Palmer (30:37).

The 10k route was circular with a total ascent of 400’. Gareth Burrell was the first Harrier home, clocking 39:01. Eli Dawson and Will Stewart also represented the club, completing in 40:16 and 40:47 respectively. 

Raymond Given Honorary Life Membership At Annual Dinner

At the Harriers Annual Dinner on Friday night, Raymond Hall was presented with an inscribed silver salver and honorary life membership in recognition of his many years of outstanding service to the club. 

The Dinner was held at Queensbury Golf club and everyone enjoyed the three course meal, which was followed by the presentation of the senior prizes by Mark Gaughan. The awards included the Road Race Leagues, Fell Leagues and Cross Country awards. 

The Chairman’s Trophy is awarded to a member who has made a significant contribution to the club.  This year it was awarded to Helen Keighley, who unfortunately was not present to collect it. 

The Pearson Trophy for Endeavour was presented to Kirsty Carver for her running with a smile attitude.

The most improved 10k runner was Erika Nightingale.

The winners in the Cross Country Championships were Verity Clements (female under 20), Michael Gaughan (senior men), Bethan Davies (senior female), Katrina Oddy (female veteran) Stephen Fitz-Costa (male veteran).

In the Fell Challenge the ladies winner was Jane Hobson and the male winner Will Carver.

The Road Race Challenge is split into 5 divisions.  Division A winner was Niall Smith, Division B winner Stephen Fitz-Costa, Division C winner Paul Hopkinson, Division D winner Stefanie Dickinson, Division E winner Kirsty Carver.


Fell League Season Starts With Ian Roberts Memorial

Three Harriers competed in the Ian Roberts Memorial fell race on Sunday; the first event in the club’s 2022/23 fell league. The route starts above Marsden, covering 6.4 miles and taking in a total ascent of 850’. It was sunny but with a cold wind, which didn’t feel so bad once the runners got started. The route has a bit of everything. The ground was soft and quite level on the tops so that runners could enjoy the views without having to watch their feet. However, the final couple of miles had some steep, boggy, rocky downhills and the grassy tussocks were a nightmare to navigate. The climb up Pule Hill was a challenge, but that’s what fell running is about! Jane Hobson led the trio home, finishing in 75th place in a time of 74:17 followed by Hazel Berrett (90th in 77:13) and Sam Layfield - making her fell racing debut - in 96th in 81:11.

Also on Sunday, Will Carver took on the highly demanding Heptonstall Fell Race. The route is over much of the best of the local landscape around Heptonstall and the Upper Calder Valley, covering 15.4 miles and more than 3,000' of climbing. Will finished in 2:34:01 in 95th place in a very strong field.

The next race in the fell league is Orchan Rocks in Todmorden on the evening of Tuesday 26th April.